Bright, Shiny Mirrors

27 06 2007

round tableIt’s amazing the kind of light your kids will shed about you……to yourself. They’re like a bright shiny mirror, reflecting everything back at you. Probably because they haven’t yet been sullied by the dirt one tends to collect as they move thru life (which we then work at cleaning off).  And kids don’t judge what they soak up, you get both positive and negative back at you with the same force.  I’m not talking about all the obvious stuff either. I’m talking about the totally sub-conscious behaviors and thought patterns we don’t even know we emit (or have ignored it for so long that we’ve forgotten;). These kids just feel it and start to manifest what they feel. So it can give a sense of responsibility to continually working on yourself (of course not at the exclusion of your family, otherwise what’s the point), for your kids sake, to pass on more tools to them then you had to work with growing up (and less baggage to carry, they’ll pick up enough of their own along the way;). Continues to expand the idea of the purpose behind what we are doing with these workouts and hikes.

Now, the reason I bring this up is because just last week, I had two positives reflectedIsa back at me from the kids. First was from my niece (Chris’s daughter), Isabella (almost 4 yrs old). We were all hanging out in the front yard and I was doing some yard work, digging up sections of grass. The kids were taking these clumps of grass and placing them in one of the soon-to-be flower beds. And these were pretty big clumps. I commented to Isabella on how strong she was. She came back with (very matter of factly:) “I know. Soon I’ll be strong enough to use the Kettlebells with you and Papa”. I was stunned with joy to hear that come out of her mouth. The kids see us exercise sometimes or stretching and of course hear us talking about it. And they will join us (especially when we do Super Joints, they like that one). But we don’t push them or try to get them to do it. But if they want to join us, we don’t exclude them and so they see that as a really positive experience.

OleeThe second was the next day, when I was playing with my son, Olaf (19.5 mths old). He loves animals and so we were playing with his collection of farm and safari animals. He had the hippo, the horse, zebra and goat all lined up next to each other. Then, making them walk, he said “Hippo…..zebra……hike..” As in the animals were going for a hike. I thought it was great that that was an activity he had his animals doing. Again positive experience for him.Diego

And just to throw my nephew (Chris’s son) Diego (16.5 mths) in there, it was awesome watching him take the big rocks I was laying along the walkway and shot-putting them two handed over and over. Just like an old school strongman event. See how they soak it up! He can barely talk and he already UNDERSTANDS!;)

Mirrors…….pay close attention………they’ll have oodles to teach you:)

s.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 06 2007
Richard

What an awesome entry!!

27 06 2007
Tabasom

Amazing stories! Thanks so much for sharing!

28 06 2007
Juliet

Bright shiny mirrors- must be all that windex they are drinking! hee hee

7 07 2007
mudspice

I love this one. And I love that photo of Isabela!

17 07 2007
Linda Kleven

Hi guys, Chris and Shane,
I hadn’t even looked past Erika and Juliette’s sites when the original info came to me but for some reason today I noticed and said to myself,” what are these two up to together?” Well, I am so greatful to hear about gymjane and of ,course I am especially touched by your realizations from the children since I am a Mom and have spent so many years with our children, learning.
I am inspired by it all and hope to get to talk with you about the program ( and how it is going for you) when I’m over next(?? not this month – I’m going to visit my cousins for 3 wks)
Sincerely,
Linda K

17 07 2007
gymjane

Thanks for your thoughts Linda! Glad you got a chance to take a gander. Of course, when you are by next, we’ll get a chance to chat. Have a great trip:)

s.

Leave a Reply

