Couting Away (need help)

18 07 2007

So. If you have read Shane’s last posting you know that I make a big mistake. In essence I did double what I was supposed to for the workout that day and as a result, I felt sick the entire day and my arms were about to fall off.

The issue, I later realized, is when I start repetitive things I have always let my mind wonder because I get bored. The issue here is how to become more process oriented and stay in the moment. I am a very goal driven person. If there is something to be achieved, I will devise the shortest and most effective way of getting there and start off. I will also improve on the systems on my way to increase efficiency as well (so if you need someone to help your company to improve its current processes I am your guy :). )

The lesson I have to learn is how to be able to stay in the moment and concentrate on each of the rep individually.

The issue is I have no idea how to do it. If you have any suggestions please let me know. Maybe you could share how you do it.

Thanks in advance!

ae

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 07 2007
mudspice

Check out: http://radicalchange.wordpress.com on “Enjoying the ride”.

Actually, I was thinking how I’m the opposite of this. I get really into counting repetitions of things that I’m doing (kind of like the guy from “Stranger than fiction”) and in fact, I try to do the opposite, stop myself from counting, so that I can get more into the experience, rather than the counting. Perhaps what you call “daydreaming” is more of a meditational space, which is very commen to enter into during repetitive activities, like exercise. Perhaps you could look at using it as a space for active meditation (like the idea of “art as prayer” from my thesis).

18 07 2007
Richard

I suppose couting is an easier way to spell counting. I see the problem about trying to get somewhere too fast. There is the great thing about accomplishing the goal like being on the top of Crown Mountain with the incredible view and knowing that we have worked hard to get there, but on the way back I realized how much I loved the experience of the snow because the sliding was such a joy and now my running has improved because it really strengthened a lot of thigh work going up the monster hills, not to mention how much more enjoyable soccer is because I can run up and down the court more.

The big other question I am asking myself is who is rushing me. Who is rushing me to get work done really quickly? Who is rushing me back to work too soon? Who wants to reports done yesterday when they just gave it to me 5 minutes ago?

18 07 2007
gymjane

I think something that is very important to keep in mind is, to your credit, your focus has improved dramatically (not just as observed by me, but by your own admission). When we started out, I counted for you, for the first 2 months or so. But then I naturally backed off and no longer had to because you began counting and keeping track yourself (to all out there, in all fairness, it’s sometimes good to have a second person counting on the really intense workouts, ’cause all the blood has left your brain in order to fuel the rest of your muscles;) and it’s alot of work just getting thru it).

So there are slip ups once in awhile. It’s okay, that’s part of the “process”. It’s a reminder. We relish mistakes because we learn from them. When I originally read this, I was going to say “whoops, my bad, I should be counting”. But then I thought, if I did that, all of this reflection wouldn’t have come about. And between the post and above comments, there are some great thoughts being put forth.

I think another great example of living in the moment that is being achieved is this cycle. The goal at the end of the cycle is to complete “300”. Yet we never talk about it. We just focus on the workouts, one day at a time, on where we are at that day. And on what we learn as we go thru it. We’ve set the goal and then we let it go and focus on the means to get there. We are living the process, as a opposed to sacrificing the process for the mere achievement of the goal.

s.

23 07 2007
Lia

Chris, I find that I struggle with the same thing. I tend to rush through things to accomplish as much as I can. It has gotten me in trouble when I write final exams; I’ll rush through the instructions and miss the whole point of the question for example. I’m also like that when I cook. I try to time everything perfectly so that I don’t have to spend an extra minute in the kitchen. I often have to remind myself to slow down, look around and breathe deeply. I really wonder what it is that’s making me be so in a hurry!

I haven’t been exercising too much recently because I’m so exhausted after work but during the school year I exercise about 3-4 times a week. What I found was when I would work out on my own I would get very bored and try to finish as quickly as possible. So I decided to start doing group exercises, whether it’s spinning or dance class, and it has helped me a lot! Having other people around while I’m exercising really helps me to stay focused and keeps me from cutting corners.

I recently started taking Yoga. It has helped me be more present in the moment. I think a few classes would help you with your work outs because it trains you to medidate by focusing on movement and focus on the process, rather than the outcome. It’s really fantastic!

I’m sure you will improve though.

23 07 2007
gymjane

WOW. That was scary. Lia, you and I are a lot a like. I have all the same experiences – except yoga 😀 .

The more I workout the easier it is for me to focus on other things which is really nice. Today, I forced myself to count out loud and it worked really well.

Maybe I should try yoga?

hahahahahahah…

ae

Leave a Reply

