In Honor of Lt. Michael Murphy

14 10 2007

I was on the Cross Fit site today and on one of the W.O.D.’s there was a link that said “Lt. Michael Murphy receives medal of honor”. Anyone who is familiar with Cross Fit knows they have one of their workouts, “Murph”, named in honor of Lt. Murphy, who was an avid Cross Fitter himself. So I klicked on the link and there was a small video of his parents accepting the honor. Ending off the clip are some thoughts from his father, a Vietnam War Vet himself, on the tragedy of losing someone like his son pre-maturely. And those thoughts struck such a cord with me that I felt moved to share it with others. Take a moment:

Lt. Michael Murphy receives medal of honor

I’d like to share a passage from the Baha’i Faith I read, which speaks to what Lt. Murphy’s father was saying at the end.

“…….there is increasing recognition that the world is in urgent need of a new “work ethic……Unlike animals, which depend for their sustenance on whatever the environment readily affords, human beings are impelled to express the immense capacities latent within them through productive work designed to meet their own needs and those of others. In acting thus they become participants, at however modest a level, in the processes of the advancement of civilization. They fulfill purposes that unite them with others. To the extent that work is consciously undertaken in a spirit of service to humanity….”

(Baha’i International Community, 1995 Mar 03, The Prosperity of Humankind)

For the healing of the family’s of those who have selflessly sacrificed their lives in service to their fellow man, and in honor of the very men and women that did, I wish to offer this prayer:

“Thy name is my healing, O my God, and remembrance of Thee is my remedy. Nearness to Thee is my hope, and love for Thee is my companion. Thy mercy to me is my healing and my succor in both this world and the world to come. Thou, verily, art the All-Bountiful, the All-Knowing, the All-Wise.

– Bahá’u’lláh –

s.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

