From the Inside, Out…and Back Again

31 01 2008

dscn3281.jpgI was thinking about ones “pace“, reflecting back on the pace I’ve chosen for this year and the resulting effect that’s had on different facets of my life.

For example, I chose to strive for excellence in one or two activities and in so doing, slowing the pace down. That lead me to choose kettlebells as my chosen physical activity. In going down that road, I’ve come to the American Kettlebell Club, which it’s style of patient, timed, strength-endurance qualities immediately clicked with me. So I’m going to train in that style for the most part (becoming even more specific, the outside reflecting the inside).

What’s been interesting are the other aspects in my life that have changed over the last couple months. Once I made the decision to make this commitment for this year, all of a sudden I’m listening to classical music non-stop. Seriously…..this is coming from a guy that has a hugely eclectic range of music that I love to listen to. From a guy that (although I always liked the “idea” of classical music) could never stay awake listening to the stuff, it bored me to tears. Now I can’t get enough of it. I actually work out to it….and am totally digging it.

I’m finding it much easier to get to bed at a decent time and to getting up earlier (for those 6 months of Crossfit Chris and I were doing, we were getting up at 6:30 am, but now due to an earlier start at work , I need to get up around 5:00 am to get my workout done). And getting up earlier totally jives with me better than getting up later.

I thought I’ve always dealt really well with stress, was never really bothered by much, took everything in stride. Well from how I feel now (relief and a sense of weight being lifted off my shoulders) you’d think I’d been a spastic, anxious, stress case.

I used to do Tai Chi as a kid, have taken Chi Gong, always loved the “idea” of doing it regularly, but could never seem to make it stick. Now, since the “Boys Are Back In Town” workshop in Oct., I’m doing, regularly, the Chi Gong system that Steve Cotter taught us.

I’m getting this greater sense of letting go of “stuff” that we have around the house. We don’t, by any means have that much clutter, but just really getting this sense of wanting to simplify and more detachment towards those tenacious items that keep hanging on for dear life (even though they’re life ended looong ago).

And what’s been happening as a result of all these changes, is the continued slowing down of my pace. They’re making it easier for me to achieve this state, which has not been easy for me to maintain, but is getting easier with each passing day.

dscn3282.jpgCreating change, for the better, is one of the hardest things we’ll do, continuously throughout our lives. By taking it one simple step at a time, I’ve, mostly by fluke, started off successfully with faster results than I ever have and than if I’d gone at it full out (even this reflective of the pace I’ve chosen). Started on the “inside”, got honest with myself. From there, applied it to the “outside”, to create and manifest the changes I wanted to make (slow but sure, no rush). And really, only to one aspect, my physical fitness (all the rest just fell into place by themselves). Then, by virtue of the changes made, the nature of the changes and their effect on my environment around me, it’s provided a “space”, with positive feedback, to allow the changes “inside” to settle, cure and become a firm foundation.

From the inside, out……and back again. Capacity increased, causing the bounce back out to have an even greater effect (on yourself and those around you) the next time around:)

s.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 02 2008
radicalchange

Last weekend our boys basketball team came in 5th place in a tournament which they could have easily won or at least come in 2nd. This was supposed to be their year, but it didn’t happen. They lost a couple of close games and then faded. The coach happens to be the high school principal and when I sat back to analyze what had happened, it was clear that they had, because of their abilities and expectations, skipped the steps needed to become a truly great team. I think what happened is that they kept thinking that they were superior so they didn’t put in the extra effort in training that would have given them the positive results that they needed. They lacked humility and then they crashed. The administrators in our school have this tendency to be white collar types instead of blue collar meaning that instead of doing the hard work to get changes that last, they just expect everyone else around them to change so that they can get what they want conveniently. They rarely consult others before decisions and never go out of their way to ask others what their program needs are. Because they have authority and have a certain amount of firing ability they have developed a lazy style of administration. This carried over this year into the basketball team. The principal kept saying that his team wasn’t coming together, but he never took responsibility for it because he is just used to having things so easy. It just made me realize that in the area of sport there are no free rides. What you get out of it is what you put into it. This is why I love sport so much and why I have run for the last 38 years. It is extremely honest. If I don’t run, I don’t improve. Very simple and straightforward. If there is no effort, no result are forthcoming. Last year’s accomplishments are only positive memories, but they have nothing to do with today’s run. If I can’t get out on the road, I am not going to improve.

7 02 2008
gymjane

Thanks so much for sharing Richard. A very poignant example:)
s.

Leave a Reply

