Incrementally to the Depths 2

13 09 2008

I had the opportunity and privilege to train one-on-one with Scott in May. To train with Scott, you don’t come away with merely having had a workout or learning a few techniques to throw in your program. You come away having had a full on education and a myriad gems gained. He had assisted me with issues I was having with my back (which actually lead me to CST). I had made some great progress and could probably have started making some headway with the Kettlebells, but knew, truthfully, that I still needed to spend time with this one.

So I let the bells go completely for now and focused on continuing to “wipe the slate clean”. By fully letting go and committing to what I needed to do, I think it was the actual step thru the door which had been previously unlocked by Scott. And now I was meeting him on the other side of it. I-Caramba! It’s funny (only in retrospect;), because as I was driving down I was thinking what I wanted to go over and ask him about. One of those was “when you and the other coaches talk about “going deep into your practice”, what EXACTLY do you mean by that”? To clarify, I never even got to ask, but boy did I come out understanding.

We worked on a number of yoga poses for me to continue addressing the imbalances that caused my back problems. Very challenging, very effective, very safe and very hard work. As we were coming to a close, going over a final pose, Mike Locke, one of Scott’s CST Head Coaches came passing by. Scott asked Mike if he wouldn’t mind taking a look and adding any thoughts he might have. Well after a minute or so of throwing some idea’s back and forth, Mike identified an area and pose, the ½ Spinal Twist, that may help. Scott smiled, a devilish little smile, and said “that’s why he’s one of my Head Coaches”.

Into the half spinal twist I went, Mike looking on with focused precision, calling out the cues, Scott assisting me physically with the pose and attaining that deepening into the movement. Further and further we went. Further than I’d ever been before. The little “voices”, which tend not to be one of my battles, starting to yell out “STOP”! I asked when we should be stopping and Mike said “you tell us”. A part of me wanted to, but I noted that it was not because I was in pain (at no time did I feel any nor would I have allowed myself to go there). There was some distress, some discomfort, some tension, but no real reason to stop. Yet I was breathing high and fast, the little voices were going a mile minute, I was sweating and I found myself on the verge of tears. I can’t remember a time when, thru all the various physical training I’ve done and extremely high levels of intensity, that I felt honestly, humbly ready to be brought to tears.

Side Note: I want to make sure it is understood and clear that Scott and Mike conduct themselves with the utmost professionalism. They were coaching me thru this every step of the way, at no point pushing me into a place beyond what I was ready or willing to go to.

With their coaching, I brought the breath under control and relaxed, releasing this insane amount of tension bound up deep in my hip. After it was all over, I unwound slowly and lay there, trying to take in what had just happened. My entire concept, of practice and to what depths, if willing to do so, you can go, had just been deepened, evolved, even altered. All of a sudden the deep well of potential with where I could take my training, any training (including those Kettlebells), was blown wide open before me. And no amount of books or DVD’s, radio or podcast’s, youtube or internet could have shown me.

Depth is what I was looking for and depth is what I got (and will continue to get). Starting way back at the very start, one step at a time, incrementally, sequentially. We may think it’s slow, even a bit tedious and dull. Compared to the frenetic pace everything else around us moves, maybe yes. But in reality, it’s not in the least. Start off nice and slow and before you know it, you’ll find yourself speeding along the strong and powerful currents of life……and smack dab in the middle of a Sonnon/Locke jam session, which is far from dull!

s.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 09 2008
13 09 2008
Juliet

great post shane, way to take it deep!

8 11 2008
mudspice

I have to say thank you to Scott as well because since you’ve brought the intu-flow in our house, great things have happened!

Leave a Reply

